This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View Privacy Policy

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.

You have allowed cookies to be placed on your computer. This decision can be reversed.

Species Named After PSG Members

Compiled by Phil Bragg & Judith Marshall

About 441 species of phasmids have been named after men, and 42 after women (data from The Phasmid Database, 2007). Species named after men end in i or ii; those named after women end in ae.

Since the formation of the PSG in 1980, 38 species have been named after members of the Group.

Species named after PSG Members 1

These two display cases of insects from my own collection show 18 of the species that have been named after PSG members. A full list of species named after members is given below.

Species named after PSG Members 2

List of phasmids named after PSG members

Hoploclonia abercrombiei Bragg, 1995 – Named after Ian Abercrombie.

Acacus braggi Hennemann & Conle, 2003 – Named after Phil Bragg.

Ramulus braggi Hennemann, 2002 – Named after Phil Bragg.

Xylobistus braggi Zompro, 2004 – Named after Phil Bragg.

Alienobostra brocki (Hausleithner, 1987) – Named after Paul Brock.

Megacrania brocki Hsiung, 2002 – Named after Paul Brock.

Sosibia brocki Seow-Choen, 2000 – Named after Paul Brock.

Lonchodes bushelli Bragg, 2005 – Named after Mark Bushell.

Extatosoma carlbergi Beccaloni, 1993 – Named after Ulf Carlberg.

Carausius chani (Hausleithner, 1991) – Named after Chew Lun Chan.

Dajaca chani Seow-Choen, 1998 – Named after Chew Lun Chan.

Diesbachia chani Bragg, 2001 – Named after Chew Lun Chan.

Phobaeticus chani Bragg, 2008 - Named after Chew Lun Chan.

Clonaria fritzschei (Zompro, 2000) – Named after Ingo Fritzsche.

Rhamphosipyloidea gorkomi (Hausleithner, 1990) – Named after Eric & Johan van Gorkom.

Phyllium groesseri Zompro, 1998 – Named after Detlef Größer.

Lonchodes harmani Bragg & Chan, 1993 – Named after Allan Harman.

Ommatopseudes harmani (Brock, 1996) – Named after Allan Harman.

Thaumatobactron harmani Hennemann & Conle, 1998 – Named after Allan Harman.

Phyllium (Pulchriphyllium) hausleithneri Brock, 1999 – Named after Berghard Hausleithner.

Hennobrimus hennemanni Conle, 2006 – Named after Frank Hennemann.

Oreophoetophasma hennemanni Zompro, 2002 – Named after Frank Hennemann.

Lonchodes hosei herberti Bragg, 2001 – Named after Mel Herbert. [This is now a synonym of Lonchodes cultratolobatus (Brunner, 1907)]

Tirachoidea herberti Hennemann & Conle, 2008 - Named after Mel Herbert.

Phaenopharos herwaardeni Hennemann, Conle & Brückner, 1996 – Named after Heinz van Herwaarden.

Phryganistria heusii heusii (Hennemann & Conle, 1997) – Named after Peter Heusi.

Spinodares jenningsi Bragg, 1998 – Named after Paul Jennings.

Lonchodes malleti Bragg, 2001 – Named after Serge Mallet.

Apterograeffea marshallae Cliquennois & Brock, 2002 – Named after Judith Marshall.

Caledoniophasma marshallae Zompro, 2002 – Named after Judith Marshall.

Monticomorpha marshallae Conle & Hennemann, 2002 – Named after Judith Marshall.

Presbistus marshallae Bragg, 2001 – Named after Judith Marshall.

Olcyphides rabaeyae Conle, Hennemann & Gutierrez, 2011 - Named after Kristien Rabaey.

Loxopsis seowi Brock, 1999 – Named after Francis Seow-Choen.

Parastheneboea yehi Brock, 1999 – Named after Michael K.P. Yeh.

Dares ziegleri Zompro & Fritzsche, 1999 – Named after Ulrich Ziegler.

Parapachymorpha zomproi Fritzsche & Gitsaga, 2000 – Named after Oliver Zompro.

Phyllium (Phyllium) zomproi Größer, 2001 – Named after Oliver Zompro.

Also: named after Jack Hasenpusch, though not a member - Nanophyllium hasenpuschi Brock & Grösser, 2008